GPS Help to get started

JimP

Hey everyone, I just purchased a Garmin Nuvi 550 strictly for use on my sled. I have never used a GPS before so I know nothing about it. How do I go about getting the Quebec trail maps for it? Do I need a TOPO eastern canada map? It comes with what looks like a dash mount for a vehicle. How would you go about mounting it to the sled? Would it work if it was in a map bag? I have a 12v outlet on the sled to plug it in. I plan on doing the Gaspe loop this season in late Feb. I have been riding in Quebec for 20 years and I guess I'm the last to have a Gps but have needed one several times. I have been lost before but have always been lucky enough to figure it out but last year over the xmas holidays we spent several hours lost in a logging area with many dead end trails. We were lucky that 1 person in our group had a GPS and was finally able to figure it out and get us out of there. It made a believer out of me so all I have to do now is figure out how to use mine. Any help will be greatly appreciated.