buying a GPS

Bill

I am a GPS rookie for sure. Just started to use one last season. Many of my friends have used them for years. I have a Garmin Oregon series with a touch screen. It is mounted on my bars on the right side and powered from the sled. I have the Quebec trail maps for SLED and QUADS. LOVE IT.

The original GPS is built in my brain I know the trails well. This ia a great addition for sure.

Garmin is the most popular and there are many many choices.

I have the 60 csx. That's a good model for sure and i've seen it discounted this summer which may mean a new and improved model around the bend but i can't find any faults with the one i have.

I have to agree with gizz, a very nice unit, I have one as well. The only fault I can say I have with mine is and it may be just me, is I find the screen a little small (this might be related to my age & eye sight too). I have seen some other models with a bigger screen but I am not sure of the, price, model, or features on these other units. The 60 CSX is very user friendly and works well in extreme cold!! Both very important features for a GPS.

A friend of mine who does alot of sledding and is in Labrador and Quebec now on his bike, swears by his zumo 550. Pricy though

Just picked up a Nuvi 550 off of ebay for $219.00 Its waterproof and has a decent sized screen. Seems to be much the same as the Zumo 550 minus the cost, We will see how it does on the trail.

Edited by artcat900

Just picked up a Nuvi 550 off of ebay for $219.00 Its waterproof and has a decent sized screen. Seems to be much the same as the Zumo 550 minus the cost, We will see how it does on the trail.

Can you load the trail maps into it?

If so, what model? Nuvi xxx?

Thanks

GutZ

Can you load the trail maps into it?

If so, what model? Nuvi xxx?

Thanks

GutZ